Danske Sportsjournalister
NyhederPRMMedlemslisteOrganisationDebatforumOm DSStadionGuideLinksBilledgalleriKontaktAIPS
Flere nyheder
Flere pressemeddelelser



Israel-Danmark - teamnews

Tirsdag d. 9. november 1999

Israels hold mod Danmark

TEL AVIV (November 9) - Maccabi Haifa goalkeeper Nir Davidovich yesterday pulled out of Israel's squad as national team coach Shlomo Scharf announced his 22 man party to face Denmark in Saturday's and next Wednesday's Euro 2000 play-offs.

Davidovich's injury means a callup for Hapoel Tel Aviv's Shavit Elimelech, although Hapoel Haifa's Dudu Awat, who played against Spain last month is expected to retain the first-choice goalkeeping spot.

Scharf, who watched Elimelech at the Tel Aviv derby at Bloomfield stadium yesterday and was impressed by his performance announced the recall of the 28-year-old keeper during Channel 5's live coverage of the match.

When asked after the match about his call-up, Elimelech who has two previous appearances for the national team, told The Jerusalem Post: "I will prove tomorrow that Scharf hasn't made a mistake by calling me up."

Scharf was also impressed by the recent performances of Hapoel Tel Aviv striker Ronnen Harazi and especially yesterday, when he scored the hosts' goal. Scharf had no hesitation in calling Harazi up.

The fact that Nice's Alon Mizrahi has been left out of the squad, may pave the way for Harazi, straight into the starting lineup. Harazi, who is the leading striker among Israel's active players with 23 international goals to his name, is set to lead Israel's attack and have the tough task of beating former Manchester United 'keeper Peter Schmeichel who arrived here yesterday ahead of the rest of his Danish teammates who will arrive today.

Scharf will assemble the squad today with the "foreign legion" who arrived from their respective countries yesterday.

The team will converge on their Tel Aviv hotel at around noon before playing a practise match against the Israel under 21's behind closed doors at 7 p.m.

Israel's squad:

Goalkeepers Dudu Awat (Hapoel Haifa), Shavit Elimelech (Hapoel Tel Aviv).

Defenders: Shimon Gershon (Hapoel Tel Aviv), Ran Ben-Shimon (Hapoel Haifa), Amir Shelah (Hapoel Haifa), Alon Halfon (Hapoel Haifa), Arik Benado (Maccabi Haifa), Alon Harazi (Maccabi Haifa), Ofer Talkar (Hapoel Haifa), David Amsalem (Hapoel Haifa), Najwan Grayeb (Aston Villa).

Midfielders: Jan Telesnikov (Dundee United), Walid Badir (Wimbledon), Alon Hazan (Ashdod SC), Yossi Abuksis (Betar Jerusalem), Tal Banin (Brescia), Eyal Berkovic (Celtic), Idan Tal (Merida), Haim Revivo (Celta Vigo), Yossi Benayoun (Maccabi Haifa).

Strikers: Ronen Harazi (Hapoel Tel Aviv, Amir Turgeman (Hapoel Haifa).